Why I Went Back to the Old-fashioned Way of Organizing DVDs

As an avid reader of various organization blogs, I was inspired to change the way I displayed and organized my DVDs. The recommendation by most bloggers is to remove the discs from all the boxes, insert them into thin sleeves, and place them in a box or bin with homemade dividers. You can check out a few posts here and here. At the time, I thought it was a nice way to unify my DVD collection and save space.

After I spent the time doing this, I realized that there was one major issue to this method – it’s a lot more difficult for friends to see what movies you have and then choose what to watch. I also found that even though I created alphabetical dividers and organized the DVDs by name, it can sometimes be difficult to tell what movie it is at a glance (I’m looking at you, Napoleon Dynamite).

After a few years of keeping this system, I decided to take all of the discs out of the plastic sleeves and place them back into their original cases. Thankfully, I was smart enough to save the cases when I organized my DVDs in the first place.

Here’s how it looks now:

DVDs

So pretty!

Which method works best for you? Comment below.

Leave a Reply

